Facebook Twitter Contact Safe Environment Intranet for Staff and Parishes The Cathedral of Christ the Light

Skip to content. | Skip to navigation

Personal tools


Diocesan Pastoral Council

You are here: Home / Diocese / Bishop of Oakland / Diocesan Pastoral Council

Diocesan Pastoral Council

Diocesan Pastoral Council

All potential Councilors must be nominated by their pastors for membership on the Diocesan Pastoral Council.  After a day retreat and discernment, the Bishop appoints the membership.

The Diocesan Pastoral Council meets quarterly with the Bishop to discuss guidelines for comprehensive pastoral policy.  Through listening, studying, analyzing parish reports, and with ongoing prayerful reflection, the Council assesses to the changing needs of the diocese.  The Council’s ministry is to “discern and advise” and, with the Director, to be available for guidance to the five regions, 18 deaneries and the 84 parishes comprising the Diocese of Oakland.

When Archbishop Cordileone was named as the archbishop of the Archdiocese of San Francisco, the see of this diocese became vacant and the Pastoral Council ceased. Bishop Barber, upon his ordination and taking possession of the diocese, will re-constitute the pastoral council.

Our thanks go out to those who served the Diocese of Oakland in the Pastoral Council, which included the following persons:

Council Members:
Region 1: Morris Soublet, Jr., Veronica Rosas
Region 2: Ana Gonzales, Samir Rohayem, Thomas Morgan
Region 3: Michael McGirr
Region 4: Mary Fair, Chuck Woods, Matt Troiano
Region 5: Yvonne Alger-Rounds, Michael Miraglia, Victor Madrigal, Dennis Schmidt, Helen Cabiles

Deacon Representative:
Deacon Tony Reyes

Religious Women:
Kim Nguyen, SSND

Bishop’s Appointees:
Rev. Johnson Abraham
Rev. Jay Matthews
Rev. Kenneth Sales

Bishop Cordileone
Rev. George Mockel, Vicar General
Rev. Robert M. Herbst, Chancellor